Inspired Holiday Outfits: Sequins

Finding the perfect holiday outfit can be tricky, but if the outfit has the correct proportions, fabrics and movement you will find yourself being the “Belle of the ball.” I am sure you have noticed that sequins are the “IT” thing to wear this Holiday season. I have seen sequins all over my Pinterest boards, twitter feed and flipboard. I have selected three sequin outfits that are put together beautifully and are all completely different and dynamic.  Of course, the sequins shown below fall into the “gold” category, but don’t be afraid to wear black, silver, blue or even purple sequins. Take a look and get inspired for your next holiday party.
CamillaBelleinFerragamo
{Camilla Belle in Ferregamo image via Nylon Magazine Blog}
I picked this sequin Ferregamo mini dress because it looks amazing alone as well as with the light pink, beige open trench coat. The nude pumps go perfectly with the jacket and shows off Belle’s long, lean legs. Belle’s hair and makeup are also perfectly done for this elegant look. I love the part down the middle and matte, red lipstick.
SequinPants
{Free People Sequin Party Pant click here}
Sequin pants are on my radar this holiday season. I am obsessed with this look by Free People. On top, I love the sleek black, tailored blazer paired with a white slouchy v-neck. I think it pairs nicely with the gold sequin, slouchy pants which are not too casual nor too dressy. However, what really ties everything together are the black pointed gold pointed tip pumps. I think this look is fabulous and the perfect outfit that is doable for both day and wearable into the evenings. If you wear this look to work, keep your make up natural and light, after work add a bold lip and sultry eyes. Splash a dab of Chanel No. 5 and you are good to go.
Tuula
{Photo of Jessica Stein from Tuula Vintage}
Jessica Stein, the author of Tuula Vintage (more photos of this outfit here) is probably one of my fashion bloggers. She travels all over the world collecting photo diaries of her journeys as well as showing off her impeccable fashion sense. I love this look because it feels like a holiday outfit without being over the top. The slouchy grey sweater pairs nicely with the gold sequin skirt and is divided nicely with a gold metallic belt. The delicate jewelry also teams up well with her bright nail polish. The proportions of this sequin skirt is perfect. This skirt is short enough to show off her long legs but long enough to wear to a tasteful holiday, family event. The oversized sweater emphasizes her smaller frame.
How do you dress it up? To do this, tie your hair in a sleek bun and pair it with a matte red lipstick, black cat eyeliner and statement crystal studs. For your feet, add black ankle booties or pumps. The shoes, makeup and accessories will tie everything together.
TangerineToteoutfit

I have created my own holiday outfit via Tangerine Tote’s Polyvore (click here for product information on all the items used in the image above). I love the gold accents in the three photos I found so I wanted to carry that look throughout my outfit. I own the H&M black sequin pants ($35.00) and love the idea of dressing this look up with gold jewelry and a gold accent nail color.

What do you think? Do you think you can make sequins work into your holiday outfit? Cheers. xx

Leave a Reply

