Merry Christmas

Mochi_Christmas

Mochi is back in Utah and ready for her first Christmas

Merry Christmas! It is great to be back in Utah for the holidays, nothing beats a white Christmas back at home. I arrived in SLC on Friday and my schedule has been non-stop. Christmas Eve was wonderful. I was able to see old friends and host a small brunch. My girlfriends from high school and their mothers stopped by for some Christmas Eve sugary treats and pomegranate champagne cocktails (similar to my earlier recipe here).

Yesterday was full of familiar faces, holiday drinks/shots and an annual dinner I look forward to every year. Brunch was easy to add to a usually hectic day like Christmas Eve. If you are willing to have a few friends over in the morning, before they have family obligations or last minute errands to run, invite them over for a few drinks, breakfast snacks and sugary treats. It’s a great way to see each other and it makes Christmas that much more special. Enjoy the pictures!

Cheers

Cheers with a Pom Champagne Cocktail. If you haven’t already noticed, pomegranates are a common ingredient in Tangerine Tote that I use throughout the Holiday season.

Pom Champagne

Pomegranate Champagne ingredients: champagne flutes, Pama liquor, champagne and pom seeds

1. Use a cute tray to dress up your table or counter for your entertainment bar section. This gold Pottery Barn tray gives me inspiration to make my own DIY entertainment tray (I love gold).

pomdrink

2. Fill the bottoms of the flutes with a small amount of the PAMA Liquor.

DSC05144

3. Finally, top it off with champagne and sprinkle the top of the cocktail with pomegranate seeds.

Sugar

Christmas Eve brunch

I love adding sugary treats to a three level tier cookie/pie rack. This gives your table volume and provokes interests of what you have to serve to your guests. Lay your treats out and continue to fill the trays as guests arrive. This makes the atmosphere more relaxed and casual. Also, the three tier cookie rack helps you organize the different pastries and cookies.

Christmas Cake Balls

Christmas cake pops

Christmas Sugar 2

I love this imperfect chocolate kiss peanut butter cookie. My favorite Christmas cookie.

Friends
It was fabulous seeing my friends. From left to right: Colleen, Becca, Kelsey, Kamauri and Me.

Christmas dinner decor

Christmas Eve dinner decor

Christmas Eve dinner is always a production at the Tsuruda household, to preparing the food to decorating the Christmas tree, everything is a process but in the end, it’s worth it. We always have our close family friends over for dinner and we are always known to start our traditional feast fairly late (10:00 pm). I think that, that is my favorite part of my Christmas Eve tradition. I love sitting and eating a long dinner with good company and great drinks and food. It’s my favorite because once the clock strikes midnight and it’s Christmas, we are all at the table sitting and talking together.
Ornaments

More decorations you’ll find in my heavily decorated household.

stake
Christmas Eve isn’t complete without passing around the Patron.

King Crab Legs

Christmas Eve Dinner: King Crab Legs

Pom Salad
We kept the left over pom seeds from my brunch and added it to the Christmas Eve salad! The pomegranate seeds help balance the flavors of a winter salad.

White grape and peach cosmo

white grape and peach cosmo

My new favorite cocktail! I can’t wait to share with you this awesome new recipe.

DSC05299
Cheers to another wonderful Christmas Eve dinner. I can’t wait to see what we’ll do next year. I’m sad to say that this is the last year we’ll spend Christmas in this house. However, if I have learned anything from moving a half a dozen times in the last year, is that a home is what you make it. I am excited for family’s journey, it’s going to be a fabulous adventure. Merry Christmas xx

Leave a Reply

