Pretty Things: Holiday Recap

Cheers from the New Yorker in Salt Lake City, UT

Cheers from the New Yorker in Salt Lake City, UT

Wow, I have already seen so many changes in 2013. I want to make “Pretty Things” a weekly post, but since it was Christmas last week I decided to skip last week and start fresh in the New Year. As usual, January is always a “bittersweet” month because it marks the end to the holiday season but starts on a high note because it marks a new, fresh beginning.

Dance

Nike Fuel Global Party in Portland, OR

Holiday parties are my favorite, because:

  1. Dress to Impress – No matter where you work or what you do, your dress usually always has some kind of a “routine.” Meaning, that depending where you work you usually have a dress code or their is a vibe in the office that dictates what you wear. This is the time to stop following the herd and rummage through your closet and pick something that stands out and different. In my case, SEQUIN PANTS!
  2. Have a “Signature Drink” – Impressing your coworkers in a meeting is one thing, but when they ask you what you would like to drink, how and what is your response? Usually people know their favorite drink. Tip: I have a few favorites that I have on hand depending where I am and with who: Cosmo (girls’ night out), Vodka Soda with a splash of cran (bar night), glass of Chardonay (coworker get togethers, casual night out).
  3. Let Your Hair Down – Company holiday parties are meant for your boss and coworkers to relax and have a good time. Don’t get too crazy on the dance floor, but don’t be stiff as a board either. Tip: Once you arrive, scope out the scene and find the bar. If you bring a date it is a great way to get to know each other and chat to other people at the party. Once you have had a couple of drinks (1, 2 or 3) start engaging in the party’s activities: dancing, games, eating, etc. Don’t be shy, just let your hair down!

Thanks, Kamauri Yeh for the invite! Check out her new lifestyle blog, here.

Cosmos and Prints

Cosmos and Prints

BE BOLD – Stack your wrists with hot arm swag and stand out by wearing a crazy print. I paired these crazy printed jeggings with a cable black knit sweater and black booties. The pants played a perfect balance between my black sweater and booties. Don’t be afraid to be different. Trust me, people always notice people when they try something daring. If you see them wear a crazy print after they comment on your’s, it is the BEST compliment. But always remember, be bold and don’t be afraid to be different.

Daily Arm Candy

Yumm… arm candy swag. Tip: Wear odd numbers of jewelry. One bold bracelet looks better than two, three different shaped bracelets look better than four. Remember, odd numbers rule your wrists!

Chtistmas Bar

Christmas Eve Bar

I love an entertainment, bar space. Always make sure that your ice is fresh and refilled regularly, have an  assortment of drinks for your guests and make sure you have the right glasses for the correct drinks. You can’t take shots of Patron in a red wine glass, duh.. Tip: Invest in glasses you know you need to have: champagne flutes, red wine glasses, white wine glasses, and shot glasses. Everything else can be “creative” especially if you are on a budget. For example, if you serve margaritas you can be clever by serving margs in dressed up regular water glass or find cute mason jars. Possibilities are endless.

cheers

Festive nail colors are always fun to do for the holidays. However, you never want to “over do” your decorative nails or max out your credit card. Tip: Check out these colorful top coats by OPI Sephora. You can add any of these glittery colors as a top coat to any color. Festive? I must say so!

Birthday Cake!

Early Birthday Cake

The first week of January, and to be more specific: January 6th, marks another Tedi Tsuruda birthday. I am so happy to be around family and friends during the Holiday season that surprise me with a Birthday cake and remember the day I came into this world. They’re so thoughtful and I am so happy and blessed to know such wonderful people. My 20-something-self is getting older… I wonder what it is going to be like when I have to say, “my 30-something-self?” HA! I can’t even imagine what life is going to be like when 30 rolls around. Good thing I have some time before I start that next chapter.

Christmas Party with Erika

Cheers everyone! Ringing in 2013 and starting off this New Year has been quite a treat – I say this now but let’s see what I say after the first week of being back at work. Let me know what you think of this week’s “Pretty Things.” I can’t wait to share next week’s tips and images with all of you. Stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Pretty Things: Holiday Recap

Leave a Reply

