Pretty Things: Light

New inspiration notebook for Tangerine Tote

New inspiration notebook for Tangerine Tote

This week’s Pretty Things highlights my crazy but productive week for “Tangerine Tote.” I have been busy thinking about awesome new ideas to share with all of you as well as talking to more local businesses in Portland to feature on my site.  I decided to collect my ideas and thoughts in the three journals I found at Target. Each of them has an inspirational quote on each of their covers. I thought the red and polka dot, William Shakespeare journal would be a good one to start with. TIP: Be sure to carry around a journal in your purse or briefcase so you can jot down random thoughts. It will help you remember ideas or instances you experience in your busy day for later inspirations.

“Joy delights in joy.” – William Shakespeare

Making "Tangerine" Comos

Making “Tangerine” Comos

Yumm… Tangerine Cosmopolitans. Here is the recipe to WOW your friends (I promise).

Ingredients You Need:

Mix these chilled ingredients together in a large pitcher. Stir. Pour the cosmo mixture over ice in your martini shaker. Shake 100 Xs (or as much as you can).  Pour into your martini glass and serve immediately. The ingredients above equals one batch (serves about 6). It is really easy to double, triple or even quadruple a batch. These cosmos also freeze nicely! You can keep the leftovers in the fridge and treat yourself after a long day at work.

framing postcards

framing postcards

Oh postcards.. they truly are pieces of art. I found the blue + yellow ones in Shanghai and the other NY ones when I was visiting MoMa in NY. In my earlier post this week, Framing Postcards, I talked about how easy and inexpensive it is to frame postcards you find when you travel, walking through an art museum, or visiting a cultural exhibit. These postcards mean a lot to me and remind me of great memories I made at these awesome places.  Go ahead, frame your favorite postcards and start decorating!

Recipe hunting via Smitten Kitchen

Recipe hunting via Smitten Kitchen

Doesn’t this cake look amazing? My aunt let me borrow her Smitten Kitchen Cookbook! I wasn’t familiar with the blog, Smitten Kitchen, but now that my aunt has introduced it to me I am in love with all Smitten Kitchens’ recipes. She truly has an eye on photographing food and her cookbook and blog are full of fantastic recipes (some are simple enough for even me to make). Take a peak at her blog if you are looking for some tasty meals to try out.

Morning coffee - Barista soy vanilla latte

Morning coffee – Barista soy vanilla latte

There is something about a nice cup of coffee, thick sweaters and some bright arm candy on a chilly morning. Once per week, I meet my dear friends, Kamauri (YehWho) and Christina, for early morning coffee before we start our work days. We either go to Portland’s local Barista or Cafe Umbria.  It’s nice to have a weekly catch up to see how everyone is doing and what their weeks are looking like. I love starting these mornings earlier, because I always seem to come to work in a better mood and more awake after a refreshing, early morning chat. If you are finding that you are in a funk or your week days are blending in too much with one another, try switching up your routine and adding an early morning yoga class or starting a weekly coffee date with friends.

My Arm Candy:

Hope everyone had a great weekend and you are all ready to start another exciting week! Looking forward to posting more DIY project and local business reviews. xx

13 thoughts on “Pretty Things: Light

  1. I love going into antique stores and READING the old postcards. It’s like a window into life in a bygone era. It also probably means I apparently must live vicariously through people I do not know. And the handwriting back then…texting has ruined us!

    • I know Andrea! I love those. I need to go to an antique store and read more. Handwritten letters always seem to trigger some sort of nostalgic memory. I miss sending postcards (I’ll add “send a postcard” to my 2013 aspirations). xx

    • Thanks P&F! I try and do “Pretty Things” weekly but you should do one monthly! It’s a great way to share things that you think find inspirational/beautiful/fun/dorky/interesting that maybe too short to write a whole post about! I would love to see your spin off of pretty things. Your blog is so awesome already. Thanks for sharing. xx

Leave a Reply

