Travel Diary: Mong Kok, Hong Kong

Mong Kok

Hong Kong is amazing. I was so happy I got to spend time with one of my dearest friends, Winnie Tsui (check out her blog here). One of my favorite places to shop and eat is Mong Kok in Kowloon. I love everything about it, especially the neon signs, food stalls, and street vendors. It makes this place truly unforgettable and unique.

mong kok selfiewinnie

I am so lucky to have a best friend in another country, especially one in Hong Kong. Winnie and I met while we studied abroad together back in 2009 at Peking University in Beijing. It was “friendship at first sight.” Thanks Winnie for always being an amazing tour guide and friend! xx I have promised her to return to Hong Kong next year, and the year after that! In my opinion, March – April is the best time to visit Hong Kong because the weather is perfect. I couldn’t have asked for more clear, perfect weather! It was amazing.

mong kok food

mong kok food

fish balls and shui mai

spicy fish balls

Food stalls line the streets of Mong Kok. You can find a variety of dim sum or “yum cha” (in Cantonese) selections. My favorites are fish balls, shui mai, BBQ pork buns and har gow (shrimp dumplings).

 funny USB characters! So cute!

funny USB characters! So cute!

The day and night market in Mong Kok has everything and anything you can imagine. The stalls range with fake goods, USB characters, accessories, I Love HK T-shirts, phone cases and Chinese trinkets. I fell in love with all these USB characters above. If you need a good gift or a few souvenirs to bring home, come check this place out! You’ll be sure to find what you need, but also remember to bargain (not too low, but a tiny bit lower).

Bargaining Tip: after living abroad in China and traveling to Hong Kong quite frequently I developed some good bargaining skills. First, take a look around and see what everyone is selling. If you see something you like, such as a bracelet or handbag, ask for the price. If you see another vendor with that same object ask for it’s price. Compare. Think in your mind what it’s worth to you and how much you are willing to pay for it. In China rebuttal with a price that’s less than half, but in Hong Kong, see if you can go down at least 20 HKD less than the original price. If you see the same object in a lot of places, chances are that object is already at a standard price set perviously by all the vendors. Also, if you speak the language it’s a plus. In the end you have to feel like you got a good deal.

I love HKwinnie looking at luggage tagswrap braceletscosmetic cases

Need faux TOMS or Loubs?

Need faux TOMS or Loubs?

cookies

cute decorated Hong Kong cookies!

bubble tea time

bubble tea time

tea
The first thing when I go back to Hong Kong and China, is to find a milk tea stand. I love all the crazy and wild flavors they have for tea and all the different types of tapioca “pearl” flavors your can add. Winnie chooses some interesting flavors when it comes to bubble tea and I am always drawn to lemon/kumquat/more sour flavors. We bought these two drinks before we made our way into one of Mong Kok’s huge garment malls. I bought so many cute things that I can’t find in the states. I can’t wait to go back! I’ll continue to post more photos and travel diaries. More of Hong Kong and Shanghai to come! xx

4 thoughts on “Travel Diary: Mong Kok, Hong Kong

  1. OMG T. thank you so much for posting this! I absolutely loved reading your post! It made me travel from my couch! I’ve never been to China but you made me want to so bad! Thanks for all those cute pictures and very useful tips 😉
    Can’t wait to read more about your trip and see all the things that you bought!! :DD
    Talk to you soon,
    XOXO,
    http://preppyandfunny.wordpress.com/

    • HI!!! Thank you! Sorry I didn’t write back sooner – I just got back to the states yesterday. You have to go! Let me know if you need any tips when you visit Asia! xx YES, talk to you soon.

  2. Amazing photos! It inspires me to visit Hong Kong now that I live in Shanghai from Taipei. The one thing I miss about Taiwan is their Taiwanese invention, Bubble Tea. At least in Shanghai, they have the Taiwanese tea branch all over called CoCo. 😀

  3. I leave a leave a response when I especially enjoy a post on a blog or I
    have something to add to the discussion. It is caused by the fire
    displayed in the post I browsed. And on this article Travel Diary:
    Mong Kok, Hong Kong | Tangerine Tote. I was actually
    moved enough to drop a thought 😉 I do have a few questions for you
    if it’s okay. Is it just me or does it appear like a few of the comments look like coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I’d like to follow everything
    fresh you have to post. Would you list all of all
    your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter
    feed?

Leave a Reply

